welcome to my culinary adventure

A Green Smoothie and Updates

Leave a comment

Hi friends!

I have some things for you:
1) Some brief updates
2) A mini-rant
3) My new favorite green smoothie

Image

Aaaand here we go!

1) Updates:
So as I’ve said a bunch of other times, I really want to be more consistent with my blog-posting. I really, really do! And now that I’m out of school (ahhhhhhhh), I finally have the opportunity to. It’s on my post-grad-freedom to-do list along with planting a fire-escape herb garden and attempting to brew my own kombucha. Anyways, I love my food-hobbies and I’m tentatively trying to make a temporary-ish career out of my food snobbery, so I’m going to focus on those now, blog included.

2) Mini-rant:
I have an irrational hatred for smoothie recipes. I’m sorry if this offends anyone (I told you, it’s irrational!), but honestly COME ON, PEOPLE. Throw some things in a blender that sounds like they might taste good together and press start. That’s all you have to do. I find measuring out ingredients for something like this very silly. To me, smoothies are about experimentation and creativity. To approach making a smoothie with measuring spoons/cups and a strict “no funny business” mindset takes away all the fun! To each his own, I suppose. But it bothers me. It also makes it extremely hypocritical that I am here today to share a smoothie recipe. But allow me to explain.

3) Smoothie Time!
Okay so hear me out: even though I just aggressively expressed my distaste for smoothie recipes, I wanted to share this one with you. I’d prefer to call it a sort of “smoothie guide”, however; I refuse to actually list any actual measurements. It’s the combination of ingredients I want you to be aware of, not the proportions. That’s up to you!

1/2ish (more or less) avocado
A few handfuls of spinach (or as much as you can stuff in your blender, if you’re me)
A spoonful-ish of coconut butter + some coconut flakes for texture
1/2ish (more or less) banana
Cinnamon to taste (I put tons because I’m a cinnamon-fiend)
Cover ingredients with coconut milk
1-2 dates if you like things a little sweeter

Blend! That’s it. It’s super green and beautiful and tastes oh so delicious and creamy. 

Now go out and enjoy the sunshine!

Love, Emily

Leave a comment