welcome to my culinary adventure

Veggie Pizza

Leave a comment

Hi guys!

Image

Apparently I love veggie things lately. Let’s be honest, I love veggie things always. Veggies are great. And I’ve been really craving pizza lately too. I eat a ton of pizza when I’m in New York (which probably contributes to the noticeable decline in health I experience vs. when I’m home…oops), and I haven’t had any in ages. My family never eats pizza. With the exception of my teenage brother who eats anything and everything he wants, we are super health-conscious in my house. As delicious as pizza is, it is disturbingly unhealthy, I will admit. Although every once in a while, I encourage you to get a real, hefty, doughy slice of pizza loaded up with goodies, this is a nice option for when you’re craving pizza but wanting healthy. So naturally when I saw this recipe on Pinterest, I was excited to try it.

So the super sneaky thing about this pizza is…the dough is made out of cauliflower! I wasn’t joking when I said it was veggie pizza. Heh. Yeah alright I am so not funny. Okaaay I know this sounds kinda questionable…I’m not the hugest fan of cauliflower (the smell scares me), but in this context, it didn’t bother me at all. Quite the opposite, in fact. Although it wasn’t quite as satisfying as a bigger-than-your-face slice of New York pizza smothered in buffalo sauce and bleu cheese (hnnnnng), it did the trick for my pizza craving, aaand it was parents-approved. Win, win!

Here’s the recipe for the crust (I’ll tell ya what I put on it later):

Preheat the oven to 450.

1 head of cauliflower

1 egg

1/3 c. mozzarella cheese (the original recipe had goat cheese, but I didn’t have any on hand)

1 tsp. oregano/Italian seasoning

Wash your cauliflower and cut it into florets. Throw these in a food processor in little batches at a time and pulse until the cauliflower is chopped up enough so that it looks like little grains of rice. Put your “rice” in a microwave-safe bowl, cover it and microwave on high for 7 minutes so that it’s nicely steamed and no longer has that funky cauliflower smell. Dump your “rice” into a thin dish towel and (no, I am not kidding), squeeze the hell out of it. I mean it; squeeze like there’s no tomorrow. Get all of your frustration out on this stuff (I know I did). Once it’s properly squeezed, dump it back into a bowl and stir in the egg, cheese and seasoning until properly mixed. This is your dough! Spread it out as thick/thin as you’d like (I like mine super thin) on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Please please use parchment paper. Or grease it or something. I used tin foil because I didn’t have any parchment paper and had to practically peel pizza-slice-shaped pieces of foil off the bottom of each slice. No fun. Stick just your crust in the oven for about 15 minutes until it starts to get lightly browned and crispy. Here’s your crust! Now turn off your oven and turn on your broiler for the final phase of veggie-pizza-making.

Image

Image

Image

Then comes the fun part! Toppings! For this, I just sauteed about 1/4 c. of thinly sliced mushrooms and 1/4 c. thinly sliced red onions with 1 clove of chopped garlic and about 1 tbsp. olive oil on medium for about 2 minutes. I spread some pizza sauce on the finished crust, sprinkled some mozzarella, and put my mushrooms and onions on top, then stuck it in the oven and broiled it for just a couple of minutes until the cheese was nice and bubbly. Remove, slice, and enjoy!

Image

Munch on, health-conscious pizza lovers.

Love, Emily

Leave a Reply

